Congo Institute Papers

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Comprises: 

  • Copy of memorandum and articles of association of the African Training Institute, by EK Jones, 1910
  • Photocopies of three photographs featuring FW Bond with his son, students and the matron, as well as views of the print works and the residential building, not dated.
  • File of correspondence between Derwyn Jones, the former Welsh Librarian at the University of Wales, Bangor and various historians and interested parties relating to the former Congo Institute, Colwyn Bay, 1972-80
  • Copy of the Congo Institute report for 1897-8
  • Copied excerpts of John Bull containing articles entitled Baptist Mission Scandal referring to events and general running of the Institute, 1911
  • Copy of pamphlet and cover letter relating to visit by Reverend William Hughes to West Africa, 1917-18
  • Press cutting containing an article about the Congo Institute
  • Notes on Reverend William Hughes, by Reverend Cefni Jones, no date
  • Copy of a pamphlet entitled A Visionary of the African Church, Mojolo Agebi, 1860-1917 by EA Ayandele, 1971. Mojolo Agebi was trained at the Congo Institute.
  • Transcript sheet containing information about the Institute prepared by Colwyn Area Library, 1984

Administrative / Biographical History

The Congo Institute, also known as the African Training Institute, was established in 1890 at Nant y Glyn, Colwyn Bay in north Wales by a returned missionary and pastor in the town, Reverend William Hughes.

Reverend Hughes, who was a friend of Sir Henry M Stanley whom he had met while a missionary in the Congo, returned to Wales in 1885 with two Congolese students and settled at Colwyn Bay, living on charity and money collected at lectures. He believed the African students should be given a Christian education and trained in a craft apprenticeship, such as carpentry, printing, tailoring, blacksmithing etc. (Mr FW Bond, who features in the collection, taught printing at the Institute.) The intention was that they would then return to Africa and act as missionaries in their own country. Students attended Tabernacle Welsh Baptist Chapel, Colwyn Bay and Calfaria Welsh Baptist Chapel, Old Colwyn. In the Old Colwyn cemetery there are gravestones of Congolese students who died in the area. The Institute finally closed in 1911. Reverend Hughes died at Penrhyndeudraeth, Merioneth.

Arrangement

Material was received on separate occasions, arranged in chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users

Acquisition Information

Item numbers: 25777-25779 were deposited by Mrs JRV Johnston (ne Marston) a granddaughter of FW Bond. Other material was received from various sources.

Note

Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, March 2002.

Other Finding Aids

Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 410, 25777-9, 32493, 32894, 32901-2, 33065-7, 33110

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.