The records of individual ecclesiastical parishes include registers of baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as records of the churchwardens and Parochial Church Councils, parish charities, schools, clubs and societies.
Parish records were deposited at the Clwyd Record Office, following an agreement of 1976 between the Church in Wales and the Welsh County Councils.
Originally in the parish of Llannefydd, the land was granted in 1195 to the Abbey of Aberconway and was known as Tir yr Abad Isa. Voelas Chapel was originally added to Yspytty Ifan church, and known by various names, especially Capel Pentre'r Fidog. The last lay reader, Sion Davydd Berson died in 1767 and the old chapel was superseded by one erected on a new site by Watkin Wynne of Voelas, and the church was consecrated in 1771.
Money from Queen Anne's Bounty and Voelas family was used to purchase Tanyrefail, Llangystein and Cae'r Brychiad, Llanrwst prior to 1791. Money left in the will of John Griffith of Cefn Amlwch in 1794 to augment the curacy was paid by his cousin Mrs Finch until 1844. Her heir conveyed to the Ecclesiastical Commissioners the farms of Pentre Felin and Cerrig Gellcwm with land adjoining the churchyard for a parsonage built in 1845. Pentrefoelas became a separate parish in November 1810.