Parish records of Skelton

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1538-1654, 1657-1749, 1751-1936, 1938-1978 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1791-1799); register of marriages, 1538-1654, 1657-1749, 1751-1811, 1813-1837, 1842-2008; register of burials, 1538-1654, 1657-1749, 1751-1931 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1791-1812, ages only from 1801); register of banns, 1824-1956, 1958-1982; register of services, 1886-1917, 1938-1976; records concerning benefice income, including glebe correspondence and papers, 1909-1950, sequestration accounts, 1975-1978, and papers, 1973-1975; charity records, including Francis Taylor Charity papers, 1902-1987; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1788-1855, briefs, 1661-1693, 1707-1708, 1739, fabric papers, 1948-1975, 1982-1988, church visitors' books, 1964-1978, and churchyard papers, 1898-1985; records of incumbents, including correspondence concerning Skelton Mission, 1938, dilapidations papers, 1946-1950, parsonage house papers, 1961-1975, 1982, and order of Holy Communion, employed c.1975-1986; overseers’ accounts, 1821-1854; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including papers relating to village hall and playing fields, 1943-1952, correspondence relating to amenities in Skelton, 1969-1970, Altar Guild minutes of meetings, 1956-1976, and accounts, 1957-1975, 1978-1979; school records, including correspondence, 1966-1974, and Sunday School sports programmes, 1968-1969, n.d; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1791-1816, 1939-1998, accounts, 1962-1977, correspondence and associated papers, 1935-1978, 1993-2000, papers, including minutes of meetings, accounts, electoral papers and miscellaneous correspondence, 1982-1999, M. E. Phillip's Trust correspondence, 1980s, insurance papers, 1983-1985, and parish newsletters, 1986-2004; 'Illustrations of Skelton Church' by Ewan Christian, 1846.

Administrative / Biographical History

The present parish church of Skelton dates to the thirteenth century. It was completed before 1247, seemingly at the direction of Walter de Grey, Archbishop of York and using the same stone as was quarried for York Minster.

The parish was subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Treasurership until this was surrendered to the Crown in 1547, but remained a peculiar within the Dissolved Treasurership until the nineteenth century. The advowson passed into lay hands, and was controlled by the Scudamore family from 1597.

By the nineteenth century the church, which is dedicated to St Giles, was in poor repair and the roof had become increasingly unsafe. It was restored in 1814-1818 by Henry Graham and again in 1883 by Ewan Christian – at which time the roof was replaced. A new organ was installed in 1864. There was a parsonage house by 1662. This was replaced in 1777.

A significant portion of Skelton historically lay within the parish of Overton. In January 1878 an exchange of land took place with that parish, giving Skelton parish its modern boundary.

Today Skelton is part of the benefice of Skelton with Shipton and Newton on Ouse. Its incumbents include Reverend Henry Stapleton, later Dean of Carlisle, 1988-1998.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1967 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1975, 1979, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1987, 1989, 1997, 2000, 2001, 2006 and 2009.

Note

The present parish church of Skelton dates to the thirteenth century. It was completed before 1247, seemingly at the direction of Walter de Grey, Archbishop of York and using the same stone as was quarried for York Minster.

The parish was subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Treasurership until this was surrendered to the Crown in 1547, but remained a peculiar within the Dissolved Treasurership until the nineteenth century. The advowson passed into lay hands, and was controlled by the Scudamore family from 1597.

By the nineteenth century the church, which is dedicated to St Giles, was in poor repair and the roof had become increasingly unsafe. It was restored in 1814-1818 by Henry Graham and again in 1883 by Ewan Christian – at which time the roof was replaced. A new organ was installed in 1864. There was a parsonage house by 1662. This was replaced in 1777.

A significant portion of Skelton historically lay within the parish of Overton. In January 1878 an exchange of land took place with that parish, giving Skelton parish its modern boundary.

Today Skelton is part of the benefice of Skelton with Shipton and Newton on Ouse. Its incumbents include Reverend Henry Stapleton, later Dean of Carlisle, 1988-1998.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2009.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, 1538-1978, marriages, 1538-1982, burials, 1538-1931, and banns, 1824-1900, churchwardens' accounts, 1788, and overseers of the poor accounts, 1821-1854, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 781, 1775, 1776).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 04.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The papers of Reverend Henry Stapleton, rector of Skelton 1967-1975, are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193