Cushnie, an ancient parish in Alford district, Aberdeenshire, was annexed in 1798 to Leochel, and now forms the western section of Leochel-Cushnie parish. Cushnie barony, originally called Cussenin (Gaelic ch'oisinn, "corner"), belonged in the 12th century, to a family of its own name; passed by marriage in the early 14th century, to the Leslies, ancestors of the Earls of Rothes; and in 1628, to the Lumsdens. Cushnie House, built by the family in 1707 but ruined by 1901, was replaced [?in the nineteenth century] with a smaller mansion near by, by Henry T. Lumsden, nephew of Matthew Lumsden LLD (1788 - 1856), orientalist. The estate passed to the Setons of Pitmedden in the nineteenth century, and thence to the King family. It was sold by Cecil H. King c 1957.
For further details on the family and lands, see Henry W. Lumsden, Memorials of the Families of Lumsdaine, Lumisden or Lumsden (Edinburgh: Douglas, 1889). See also Scottish Notes and Queries, 3rd series, 5 (1927), 96, 117 - 118, 140, 177, 178; Bernard Burke, History of the Landed Gentry (1845 - 1862); and Margaret Stuart, Scottish Family History (Edinburgh: Oliver and Boyd, 1930)