Records of the Alexandra (Newport & South Wales) Docks and Railways Company and successors, 1861-1950, including deeds relating to Newport, Monmouthshire, 1879-1923; correspondence, 1903-1927; maps and plans, 1861-1950.
Alexandra (Newport & South Wales) Docks and Railway Company Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1865, the first Lord Tredegar, Sir Charles Morgan Robinson Morgan, Baronet (1792-1873), formed the Alexander Dock Company in Newport, Monmouthshire. The Newport North Dock and Lock was opened in 1875. Following an Act of Parliament of 1882 the Alexandra (Newport) Dock Company and the Newport Dock Company, were amalgamated to become the Alexandra (Newport & South Wales) Docks and Railway Company (ANDR). The new company took over the Old Town Docks in 1884. The company decided to construct a railway line connecting the docks to Pontypridd. The Pontypridd, Caerphilly & Newport Railway Company (PC&N) was incorporated in 1878, but not completed for many years. In 1922, the ANDR was amalgamated into the Great Western Railway Docks department, and then became part of British Railways following Nationalisation in 1948.
Arranged into the following: Deeds; Correspondence; Maps, plans and related documents; Other.
Conditions Governing Access
Source not recorded
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Gwent Record Office, Catalogue of Records of Alexandra (Newport & South Wales) Docks and Railway Company; Davis, Haydn, The history of the borough of Newport: from swamp to super-town (Newport, 1998); Hutton, John, The Newport Docks & Railway Company (Wadenhoe, 1996).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available in Gwent Record Office, the National Library of Wales and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at Gwent Record Office have been retained.
Accruals are not expected