Minute book of the Working Committee of the Dinorwic Quarry Hospital Fund, 1916-1925.
Minute Book of the Dinorwic Quarry Hospital Fund
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Dinorwic Slate Quarry operated at Llanberis in Gwynedd (formerly Caernarfonshire), a town that developed because of the slate-quarrying industry. Commercial quarrying began at the Dinorwic slate quarries in the early nineteenth century and was at its peak between 1850 and 1910, employing over 3,000 men. Railways worked by dozens of small steam locomotives transported slate to the sea at a harbour known as Port Dinorwig (now Y Felinheli). Health and safety conditions at the quarry werefar from ideal resulting in a significant number of serious and fatal accidents. Economic conditions forced the quarry's closure in 1969 and it is now the site of a major tourist attraction commemorating the quarry and its workers.
Dinorwic Quarry opened a hospital for its employees in 1876 (a doctor was appointed in 1883 !)
Incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users.
Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, June 2003.
Other Finding Aids
A typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference number : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 13559
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.