Scope and Content

Comprising: Registers of Baptisms 1938-1968; minutes 1934-1967; other 1920-1968

Administrative / Biographical History

This church was built in 1857 and reference to its origins can be found in the minute book of the Spring Gardens Circuit on 16 March and 4 April 1857 (see NM36/1/1). Additions to the church were made in 1866 and by 1875 it had become part of the Doncaster Station circuit. This changed in 1950 and 1956 when it was transferred to the Priory Place and Doncaster District Coalfields Mission circuits respectively. On the dissolution of the Coalfields Mission circuit, the chapel became part of the Doncaster West circuit, until the closure of the church in 1968. The congregation joined with the Bentley High Street church to form Bentley Central and these records can be found at the reference NM11.

Access Information



Access will be granted to any accredited member of Doncaster Libraries

Related Material

Spring Gardens Circuit minute book (NM/36/1/1)