Maesyrhaf Independent Chapel, Neath, Records

Scope and Content

Records of Maesyrhaf (later Zoar-Maesyrhaf) Independent Chapel, Neath, 1824-1995, including minutes, 1918-1977; financial records, 1824-1977, including registers of members and contributions, 1824-1977; annual reports, 1916-1975; Sunday School attendance registers, 1915-1953; photograph of deacons, [c. 1900]; Church histories, [1963], 1995; audio tape of service, 1966.

Administrative / Biographical History

Maesyrhaf Independent Chapel was built at Green Street, Neath, Glamorgan, in about the year 1772. A division occurred in the chapel in 1823 and members who had left Maesyrhaf began meeting at Zoar Chapel, erected in 1828-29. In 1966, after a decline in chapel attendance, the two congregations at Maesyrhaf and Zoar were re-united under the name Zoar-Maesyrhaf and worshipped at Maesyrhaf Chapel. The Zoar Chapel building was subsequently used for commercial purposes.


Arranged into the following: minutes; registers and financial records; Band of Hope; Sunday School; Young People's Society; presentation volume; photograph; minutes; financial records; annual reports; minutes; financial records; annual reports; other historical items.

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.


Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Religion - Nonconformist - Welsh Independent - Maesyrhaf Independent Chapel, Neath, catalogue.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained


Accruals are not expected

Geographical Names