Job files, images and drawings related to project.
St Patrick's Church, Kilsyth (Gillespie, Kidd and Coia)
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
St Patrick's Church, Kilsyth (1944-74) replaced the original stone built church on the same site which was in use until the decision was taken to demolish it and build the new church. The site selected slopes gently towards the road. Its central change of level is parallel to the road and is surrounded on three sides by buildings, one of which stands atop a high retaining wall which forms a long boundary. By placing the new building across the site parallel to and well back from the road over the change of level, it was possible to provide for a large paved forecourt and to exploit the levels to give access to the church via a lower narthex and to house a mortuary, chapel, repository, and guild room in a lower ground floor.
The material has been arranged using original Gillespie Kidd and Coia project reference codes.
Glasgow School of Art Archives and Collections are open for research by appointment.
Catalogued by Tracy Wilkinson, GKC Project Archivist
Conditions Governing Use
Application for permission to quote should be sent to the Glasgow School of Art Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with Glasgow School of Art Archives and Collections standard procedures.