Records of the operational management of the York Motor Yacht Club including meeting minutes, financial records, correspondence, details of members and of events and publicity. There is also a small amount of information on associated groups.
Records of the York Motor Yacht Club
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The York Motor Boat Club was founded in June 1933 by motor boat enthusiasts who moored along the River Ouse in York. The first President of the Club was Mr B Hudson who purchased the Clubhouse as a Prisoner of War Hospital in Silecroft, Cumbria. The wooden building was brought across to York and erected at Fulford, opening in 1954. The Club changed its name to York Motor Yacht Club in 1968.
The York Motor Yacht Club is a membership group for those interested in motorboating. The group hosts a wide ranging programme of events throughout the year using their Clubhouse on the River Ouse. The Club also have permanent and visitors moorings along the River Ouse.
Conditions Governing Access
Material is available subject to the usual terms and conditions of access to Archives and Local History collections.
Other Finding Aids
More detailed finding aids for this collection can be found online by searching the Explore website ( www.exploreyork.org.uk)
Compiled by Sarah Tester, Community Collections and Outreach Archivist, May 2015.
Conditions Governing Use
Images are supplied for private research only at the Archivist's discretion. Please note that material may be unsuitable for copying on conservation grounds. Researchers who wish to publish material must seek copyright permission from the copyright owner.