Records of Capel y Crwys, Three Crosses, 1899-1988, comprising Church histories, 1938, 1988; annual reports, 1899-1972; programmes and orders of service, 1935-1988.
Capel y Crwys, Three Crosses, Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Capel y Crwys Independent Church in Three Crosses, Llanrhidian, Glamorgan (now Swansea), was established in 1788. New chapel buildings were built in 1831 and 1877. The Church's ministers during the 20th century were the Rev. James John, appointed 1899, J. C. Lloyd, 1909, O. R. Owen, 1935, Eynon Thomas, 1957, Caradog Evans, Vincent Evans and the Rev. Neville Morgan, 1976. The Church began as a Welsh language institution. It remained bilingual before the Second World War but subsequently became mostly English in language.
Arranged into the following: bicentenary; annual reports; Church histories; programmes and orders of service.
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Religion - Nonconformist - Independent - Capel y Crwys. Three Crosses, catalogue; NLW, Capeli database, viewed 13 September 2005; Jones, Wyn, The History of Capel y Crwys, Gower, 1788-1988 (Swansea, 1988).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected