The collection contains business accounts, administrative records and other documents relating to the Bartington area. The majority of the material relates to John Antwiss of Aston, High Constable, banker, arable farmer and tannery director. It contains letters, accounts and deeds, dating from the late eighteenth and early nineteenth century, including freight bills for the Bridgewater Canal. There is also material from the mid-nineteenth century relating to the Lowe family, including Poor Law and taxation records for Bartington Parish, Runcorn Union. Additional material relates to the Talbot and Done families, later residents of Bartington Hall Farm, and to Dr Malet.
Bartington Hall Papers
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 427 BAR
- Dates of Creation1647-1984
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description6.25 linear feet
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Bartington is something of a lost village. Mentioned in the Domesday survey as 'Barterton', it was located in the large hundred of Bucklow within the parish of Great Budworth. On 15 July 1834 Bartington was formed into a new parish and this continued until 1936 when it was merged with Dutton for civil administration and with Little Leigh for Church affairs.
After being held by the Lowe family, Bartington Hall passed to the Done's, and in 1976 was bought from Mr Percy Done's executors by Dr and Mrs Hugh Malet.
Conditions Governing Access
Open for inspection
Other Finding Aids
Description created by Ian Johnston, May 2007