University of Edinburgh: development of miscellaneous areas

Scope and Content

University of Edinburgh: development of miscellaneous areas consists of:

  • plans: Peffermill playing fields (1966-1978 )
  • aerial photograph: Pollock Halls of Residence (1967 )
  • plans: Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies (c1958-1968 )

Administrative / Biographical History

Additional sites of importance to the University of Edinburgh included its playing fields at Peffermill, to the south-east of the city. A site dedicated to student residences at Salisbury Green, just to the east of the central area, was developed from 1955  as the Pollock Halls of Residence and named in honour of the donor of the land, Sir John Donald Pollock. The Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies became part of the University in 1951  and there was development of its sites at Summerhall (1969-1971 ), just south of the central area and at the Bush Estate (1952 ), to the north-west of the city.

Conditions Governing Access

This material is unrestricted.

Note

None

Geographical Names