Association of Building Technicians

Scope and Content

Association of Building Technicians subcollection consists of papers and publications collected by Percy Johnson-Marshall during his active membership of the organisation:  

  • committee papers, 1946-1956
  • draft reports on issues relating to housing and planning, 1941-1951
  • arbitration for an architectural qualifications dispute, 1952
  • membership information, c1940-1958
  • material from the "Coventry of tomorrow" exhibition, 1940
  • Keystone - the Association of Building Technicians Journal, 1938-1965
  • collected Association of Building Technicians (ABT) publications, c1940

Administrative / Biographical History

The Association of Building Technicians was founded in 1919 as the Architects' and Surveyors' Assistants' Professional Union. In 1924 it became the Association of Architects, Surveyors and Technical Assistants (AASTA). It changed name again in 1942 to become the Association of Building Technicians (ABT).

During his early working life Percy Johnson-Marshall was an active member of the Association. He held office on a number of central and regional committees. Work on these included overseeing the authorship of reports and representing students in professional disputes. He was also one of the organisers of the "Coventry of Tomorrow Exhibition" mounted by the Coventry Branch of the AASTA in 1940. During the course of his membership, Johnson-Marshall also collected a selection of published material produced by the association.


The arrangement of this material is subject based series, with material retained in the original file bundles kept intact.

Access Information

This material is subject to access restrictions under the Data Protection Act, 1998.


Former reference number: FR75, FR1, SB015, SB028, SB029, SR2, SR6, SR8, SR16, SR21, SR22, SR47

List of sources for the administrative history:

Related Material

1 institution which holds archive material relating to the Association of Building Technicians is noted in the National Register of Archives (NRA), updated by the Historical Manuscripts Commission, and this can be consulted via their website:


No known publications using this material