Development of the University of Edinburgh Student Amenity Centre

Scope and Content

Development of the University of Edinburgh Student Amenity Centre consists of:  

  • reports and photographs of architectural models, (1967-1970 )
  • University of Edinburgh Student Amenity Centre: architectural drawings, (c1967-1968
  • plans, (c1967-1968 )

Administrative / Biographical History

A site for the University of Edinburgh Student Amenity Centre was allocated between Marshall Street and Lothian Street, in  1943 . Layouts were proposed in the Charles Henry Holden Scheme (1947 ) and the Sir Basil Urwin Spence Scheme (1955 ). Percy Johnson-Marshall's plan (1962-1982 ) arranged the student buildings to the north and east of his planned new Bristo Square. Morris & Steedman were appointed architects for the Amenity Centre in  1962 , with work commencing in  1967 . The first phase (Refectory and Health Centre) was completed in  1969  and the second (including Bank, Shops and Chaplaincy Centre) in  1976 . Two further phases were cancelled.

Conditions Governing Access

This material is unrestricted.

Note

List of sources for the administrative history:

Fenton, Clive, Appleton's architects : building the University of Edinburgh (1949-65), Thesis (PhD) (Edinburgh, University of Edinburgh , 2002 )

Geographical Names