Comprehensive Development Areas: Woolwich

Scope and Content

Comprehensive development areas: Woolwich consists of:

  • Woolwich Industrial Estate, ( 1950s )
  • plans - St Mary's Woolwich Redevelopment Area reused layout 1955 - with suggestions by the Borough Engineer, ( 1955 )

Administrative / Biographical History

Woolwich, the most easterly of London's Boroughs south of the River Thames, had an area of 63 acres of land bombed during World War II, and obsolescent property in and around the docks at St Mary's. This was designated by London County Council as Comprehensive Development Area no 8.

Access Information

This material is unrestricted.


List of sources for the administrative history:

Jordan, Robert Furneaux, New standards in official architecture, Architectural Review vol 120, no 718 pp 303-324(November 1965 )

Johnson-Marshall, Percy, Rebuilding cities, (Edinburgh, Edinburgh University Press , 1966 )