Comprehensive Development Areas: South Bank

Scope and Content

Comprehensive development areas: South Bank consists of:

  • planning correspondence and papers, (1954-1955 )
  • Festival of Britain 1951 competition - "Design a restaurant for the South Bank", (1949 )
  • drawings, (c1954 )
  • press clippings, (1953-1960 )
  • hotel site particulars, (1954 )
  • photographs, (1954-1961 )
  • South Bank Centre press pack, (1967 )
  • plans, (1950-c1960 )

Administrative / Biographical History

London County Council Comprehensive Development Area no 4: South Bank comprises: the area of the Thames riverbank between Vauxhall and Southwark Bridges in 5 sectors: Albert Embankment; St Thomas's Hospital Precinct; the Permanent Development Area, including County Hall; the area between Waterloo and Blackfriars Bridges; and the area between Blackfriars and Southwark Bridges (Bankside).

The Permanent Development Area, designed in 1949  included the temporary exhibition site that was used during the Festival of Britain (1951 ) The first of the permanent buildings was the Royal Festival Hall, by the London County Council Architect's Department (1951 ). The scheme was further amended in 1953  and 1957 , during which time there were negotiations concerning proposed developments by Shell, Decca Records and the British European Airways. Later, Sir Robert Hogg Matthew was consultant architect for a proposed development by Acquila Investments, in 1960 . The National Film Theatre, designed by Denys Lasdun, was opened in 1967 .

Conditions Governing Access

Material relating to living individuals may be restricted under the Data Protection Act, 1998.


List of sources for the administrative history:

Jordan, Robert Furneaux, New standards in official architecture, Architectural Review vol 120, no 718 pp 303-324(November 1965 )

Johnson-Marshall, Percy, Rebuilding cities, (Edinburgh, Edinburgh University Press , 1966 )