University of Edinburgh, King's Buildings Development

Scope and Content

Development of King's Buildings consists of:

  • committee and sub-committee papers, (1949-1978 )
  • photographs, (1949-1978 )
  • reports, (1961-c1984 )
  • development plans, (c1960-1970 )
  • buildings plans, (1951-1978 )

Administrative / Biographical History

The University of Edinburgh's King's Buildings site, to the south of the city, was acquired in 1919  and since then has steadily been developed with buildings for the Faculties of Science and Engineering and some non-University institutes. Percy Johnson-Marshall was appointed site consultant in 1964 , coordinating developments, allocating sites for buildings and determining the roads and general layout in a series of reports and feasibility studies. In this, he was responsible to the King's Buildings Committee, itself a sub-committee of the University Development Committee, and the various sub-committees involved with specific buildings, until 1985 . During Johnson-Marshall's tenure, buildings by a variety of architects were erected for: Biology, Forestry & Natural Resources (the Darwin Building); Maths, Physics & Computer Science (the James Clerk-Maxwell Building); Botany; the (new) Refectory and Boiler House; Experimental Petrology, and Epigenetics. Many existing buildings were also extended and Percy Johnson-Marshall & Associates were the architects for the system-build multi-storey car park.

Conditions Governing Access

Material relating to living individuals may be restricted under the Data Protection Act, 1998.

Note

List of sources for the administrative history:

Fenton, Clive, Appleton's architects : building the University of Edinburgh (1949-65), Thesis (PhD) (Edinburgh, University of Edinburgh , 2002 )

Geographical Names