Comprises registers of baptism, banns, marriage and burials; service registers; records of the benefice; churchwardens' records; parochial church council records; school records; statutory deposit records and miscellanea.
Llysfaen Parish Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 2008 CEP36
- Dates of Creation1629-2010
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description6 boxes and 1 outsize roll
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Tradition states that the Llysfaen parish church was founded by St. Cynfran in AD 777. It was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254. St. Cynfran's church has been rebuilt a number of times; the current building is said to date from 1377 but is believed to incorporate stones from the original church. In 1870, the building was the subject of an extensive restoration with only a few panels remaining from the Middle Ages, although the mediæval stone walls remain. In 1972, the church was subject to another restoration.
The ancient parish of Llysfaen comprised the townships of Isallt, Isyffordd, Pant (or Tre'r Pant), Penmaen and Rhwngyddwyffordd. In 1872, part of the parish was lost to Colwyn but the township of Twynnan was gained from Llanelian-yn-Rhos. In 1923, the parish of Llysfaen was moved from Caernarvonshire (of which it had been an exclave) to the surrounding Denbighshire.
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.
Received from the parish by Denbighshire Record Office in 1976 and 2005. Transferred to the Conwy Archive Service in 2009.