Correspondence, 1938-1946; an order book, 1920, and orders for books and periodicals, 1937-1948; vouchers, 1935-1949; rent receipts, 1935-1949; minutes of Carmarthen Town Council, 1947; plan of Dynevor Castle, 1935; miscellaneous posters and printed items relating mainly to Carmarthenshire, -1949.
Messrs Spurrell and Son Printers Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Spurrell publishing and printing house was founded in 1840 by William Spurrell (1813-89) of Carmarthen who was succeeded by his son Walter (1858-1934). Following his death the business was purchased by J. W. Nicholas (died 1943) of Llandeilo. The company was sold to H. G. Walters of Narberth in 1957 and the imprint, known as The House of Spurrell or Messrs Spurrell and Son, was abandoned in 1969.
Arranged by date of deposit.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Mr D. E. T. Lewis, Llanllawddog, 1979, 1984.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Carmarthenshire Archives Service, Business Records; Huws, Richard E., 'Spurrell of Carmarthen', in Jones, Philip Henry, and Eiluned Rees, A Nation and its Books - A History of the Book in Wales (Aberystwyth, 1998).
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Carmarthenshire Archives Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained
No information found
Accruals are not expected