Llangernyw National School was probably founded in 1827 and registers exist from 1839 but the building itself was constructed in 1852. The oldest log book is dated from 6th February 1862. This was a mixed junior and infant school. The first Head Teacher mentioned was William Barnwell who retired in May 1887. He was followed by Henry Barnwell. Both Head Teachers received favourable HMI and Diocesan reports describing it as a ‘model country school’. The number of scholars attending the school was always over 100 and in June 1904 the school became under the authority of Denbighshire County Council.
Henry Barnwell died in December 1917 after 30 years as Head Teacher and Miss LJ Barnwell became temporary Head Teacher. In April 1919 William J Barnwell took over the school. He continued as Head Teacher until he was appointed to a boys’ school in Derbyshire in March 1933, ending the Barnwell family combined service to the school of 163 years. In August 1933 Mr G. Williams became Head Teacher.
By April 1939 there were 89 scholars on the books which was the lowest number in the history of the school. The school building consisted of 2 rooms – a small classroom for the infants and the main classroom containing Standards I – VII – 70 children in all, taught by 3 teachers. HMI were critical of this situation, although the teaching was still described as excellent. Numbers were decreasing and something had to be done about the defects in the building.
The school closed in July 1969. A new school proposal in February 1968 was for Llangernyw and Trofarth Voluntary Controlled Schools and Pandy Tudur County Primary School to be merged into a new school for 80 pupils at Llangernyw.
The new school, Ysgol Bro Cernyw, was opened as a combined school and community centre in Llangernyw to take all pupils from Llangernyw, Pandy Tudur, Trofarth and Gwytherin in October 1969.
The former National school and School House still exists in the village and is Grade II listed. It can be found close to the Church of St Digain (latterly used as a village youth club).
This collection includes log books, admission and attendance registers.
CD/A/4/214- Plans, 1968
DD/DM/341/58 – Denbighshire Free Press – November 8th 1969 – Page 10.