Hen Gapel (Old Chapel) in Llanbryn-mair, Montgomeryshire is one of the oldest and most famous chapels in Wales.
As far back as 1635 the Rev Walter Craddoc had a small congregation in Llanbryn-mair. For around forty years, the cause had no home and meetings were held in houses or in a nearby forest. In 1675 a room at Ty Mawr was assigned for their use.
In 1734 the cause in Llanbryn-mair was but an obscure branch on the periphery of the old church of Llanfyllin. However, in 1739 a chapel was built and by 1778 had been extended. The house of worship was re-built in 1821.
Over the years, the chapel has seen many ministers. For 60 years, three members of the same family served consecutively as ministers. John Roberts, the father; Samuel Roberts and John Roberts, the sons.
In April 1939 the chapel had 362 members. In April 1989 the chapel had 291 members.