A variety of records and artefacts of the Anglesey Hunt, touching upon the different aspects related to it, e.g. the balls and other festivities, the point to point races and steeplechases, the procession through the town of Beaumaris, the Harriers. The papers include minute books, 1757-1968; photographs; list of officers, 1757-1938; note books/diaries of the huntsmen of the Harriers, 1894-1923; accounts, 1895-1939; scrap books, ca.1947. Amongst the artefacts there are portraits, silverware and china. Photographs and newspaper articles deposited in January 1999 and miscellaneous notes deposited in June 1999 by a Captain J. R. F. Mills are included as an Addendum to the Collection.
Anglesey Hunt Records and Artefacts.
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 222 AH
- Dates of Creationca.1757-1991.
- Language of Materialenglish
- Physical Description900mm x 1000mm The size of the portraits makes them unwieldy to use and as a result they can only be viewed in the Muniment Room.
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Anglesey Hunt boasts the title of being the oldest in Britain. Its earliest minute book dates back to 1757 and serves as proof of its seniority over the Tarporley Hunt Club, which was established in 1762.
The records are arranged chronologically by record type whilst the artefacts are divided into portraits, silverware, china and other items.
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users although a prior arrangement to see the artefacts is preferred.
The records were deposited in 1986, whilst the artefacts were placed in the care of the University Museum until 1991 when they too were transferred to the Department.
Other Finding Aids
A catalogue at item level created in January 1998.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are to be made at the discretion of the archivist.
Sydney F. Lloyd, 'The Anglesey Hunt, 1757-1838', Anglesey Antiquarian Society and Field Club Transactions, 1954, p.p. 74-87;
Sydney F. Lloyd, 'The Anglesey Hunt, 1839-1955', Anglesey Antiquarian Society and Field Club Transactions, 1956, p.p. 29-45