The material in the historical archive relates to the history and development of the Church colleges in York and Ripon from their founding to 1976. It covers not only the records of the buildings and administration, but all aspects of student life and academic achievement. There is also additional material which charts the progress of the National Society and the York Diocesan Society, from 1812, in founding schools in Yorkshire and surrounding counties, and gives insight into the way these societies operated. The archive as a whole contains a variety of material, such as minute books of the Diocesan Society and management committees of the colleges, exam papers, plans of the buildings, correspondence on the many diverse topics relating to the administration of a Church college, and photographs and prospectuses.
York St John University Historical Archive
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 1865 Historical Archive
- Dates of Creation1812-1976
- Name of Creator
- Physical Descriptionca. 450 bound volumes, 800-900 bundles of correspondences and administrative papers, 200 architectural plans, 200-300 photographs, and other artefacts and ephemera.
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Following the establishment of the National Society in 1811, the Yorkshire Diocesan Society for the Education of the Poor in the Principle of the Established Church was founded in 1812, to supervise the building and organisation of National schools throughout the diocese. By the 1830s it was clear that a training college was needed to provide for the growing number of teachers. The Training School for Masters duly opened its doors in York in 1841 and moved into its new building, on the present site, in 1845. A Training School for Mistresses used the original building vacated by the men. In 1862 the Women's Training School moved to a new site at Ripon and was administered by the Diocese of Ripon, which had been created in 1836. These two Training Schools were administered separately until 1976 when they were merged into the College of Ripon and York St John. During a short period in 1990s the name was changed to the University College of Ripon and York St John, and, more recently, with the sale of the site at Ripon in 2001, the college has settled on the name of York St John.
Conditions Governing Access
To ensure access please make an appointment in advance, contact Lottie Alexander, Academic Support Librarian, telephone 01904 876696, email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Other Finding Aids
The catalogue is published on the College Historical Archives webpages
Conditions Governing Use
Permission to make use of material from the collection must be sought in advance.
The historical archive has been gathered over many years and was catalogued during the 1980s-1990s by Dr John Addy