Plans of mines in Montgomeryshire, 1868-1938, including slides and negatives.
Mines and Quarries Inspectorate Montgomeryshire Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Mines and Quarries Inspectorate, now the Mine Inspectorate is part of the Health and Safety Executive and is responsible for checking the construction and safety of mines. An Act of 1850 required colliery owners to provide accurate maps for inspection, and that of 1872 obliged owners to deposit plans of abandoned mines with the Home Secretary. Until 1908 each inspector of mines was in charge of a district within the country and was assisted by local staff. Following reorganisation in 1908 a new Mines Department of the Home Office was created. In 1920 the Mines Inspectorate, the Mining Record Office and the Board for Mining Examinations were absorbed into a new Mining Department. The Inspectorate was transferred to the Ministry for Fuel and Power in 1942 and later the Ministry of Technology and the Department of Trade and Industry.
Arranged into the following: Cwm Ricket and Maesnant lead mines, Llanidloes; Llanidloes, near Brynposteg Hill; Van Central, Llanidloes; Bwylch Creolan Mine, Pen-y-bont Fawr; Dyfngwm Mines, Hirnant Minerals Ltd; West Llangynog Mine; Dylife Mine, Llechwedd Ddu Mine, Penegoes.
Conditions Governing Access
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Powys County Archives Service, Mines and Quarries Inspectorate, catalogue; The National Archives, Records of the Mines Inspectorate and predecessors, 1850-1968, catalogue.
All records transferred to Powys County Archives Service have been retained.