Scope and Content

showing the exterior of Edenthorpe Hall (dimensions 10 by 7.25 inches). It shows the central block of the Hall and a new wing, with the fence around the garden-ground in which there are trees, some of them apparently newly-planted. There is a man standing against a gate; a group of two women with a boy and a girl; and a woman (? doing needlework) under a tree with a bird cage nearby

Administrative / Biographical History

Edenthorpe Hall was built by George Cooke of Streetthorpe (Edenthorpe) in the late 18th century. In 1802, he inherited by Yarborough estates and Campsmount, the seat of the Yarboroughs at Campsall, on the death of the second of his spinster aunts, Ann and Elizabeth Yarborough. On inheriting, he added their surname to his own. In 1823, the estate was sold to George Parker of Woodthorpe, whose wife, Diana, was the sister of George Cooke Yarborough. Their son, Henry Yarborough Parker, sold the Streetthorpe estate to Lord Auckland in 1874, who renamed the estate as Edenthorpe. The house was extended at some unknown date by the building of a two-storey wing. The house was damaged by fire in the 1920s, when the 18th century house was badly damaged and subsequently demolished. The remaining part of the house is now incorporated into a local authority school. This photograph was found by the donor as backing to a frmaed print. Also used as backing was a copy of a newspaper dated 13 Apr 1873

Access Information



Access will be granted to any accredited member of Doncaster Libraries