Writers' Guild of Great Britain

Scope and Content

Various administrative and operational records.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Television and Screen Writers' Guild was formed on 13 May 1959 by the amalgamation of the British Screen and Television Writers' Association (BSTWA; originally formed as the British Screenwriters' Association, commonly known as the Screenwriters' Association, and renamed in 1955) and the Radio and Television Writers' Association (RTWA). Often known simply as the Screen Writers' Guild (which it used on its letterheads), it was renamed the Writers' Guild of Great Britain (WGGB) in 1964. It is a professional association and non-political trade union that now caters for writers in all media.

Access Information

This collection is available to researchers by appointment at the Modern Records Centre, University of Warwick. See https://www2.warwick.ac.uk/services/library/mrc/using/

Acquisition Information

MSS.515 was transferred from the University Library in 2003. The main archive was deposited in 2015 and is as yet uncatalogued.

Other Finding Aids