Minutes, 1637-1666, 1673-1773 and 1783-1906; Accounts, 1822-1953; Baptisms, 1838-1854, 1857-1858 and 1883-1927; Contracts and marriages, 1855-1912; Account for building church, 1821; Minutes of Heritor's meeting, 1831; Proclamation register, 1838-1854 and 1862; Communion roll, 1866-1896.
Records of Kilconquhar Kirk Session
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 227 CH2/210
- Dates of Creation1637-1962
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description0.7 metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The church of Kilconquhar, which was rebuilt in 1820-1821, formerly belonged to the Benedictine Nunnery of North Berwick (East Lothian) and the session records ministry from 1560, in the person of Alexander Spens. In 1954, following the union of the Church of Scotland and the United Free Church in 1929, Kilconquhar was united with the former United Free church congregation of Colinsburgh, under the name of Kilconquhar and Colinsburgh. The united session, which sits within the Presbytery of St Andrews, later linked with Elie in 1977.
Each congregation of the Church of Scotland has a Kirk Session, which comprises the minister(s) and the ruling elders, all members of the Session (including the minister) being elders. The elders' duty is care for the spiritual needs of the congregation; each of them has a district of the parish assigned to him/her. The Kirk Session determines the number of elders. The minister is moderator of the Session, and there is a clerk who has custody of all the Session's records. There may also be a treasurer, and an officer or beadle. The Session must have maintained a communion roll, containing the names and addresses of the communicant church members within the parish.
The Kirk Session's duties are to maintain good order amongst its congregation (including administering discipline and superintending the moral and religious condition of the parish), and to implement the Acts of the General Assembly. The Kirk Session is at the base of the pyramid of church courts, and it is subject to the review of the Presbytery in which it is situated, and to the superior courts of the Church. Each Kirk Session elects one of its number to represent it at the Presbytery (and formerly at the Synod).
Into the 19th century, there used to be weekly collections made for the support of the poor, but as the state began to assume responsibility for their support (by means of taxation) so funds collected from communicants might be directed to special schemes (eg support of missionaries), more recently through a weekly freewill offering scheme. Seat or pew rents were also quite common (money paid for a fixed seat in a church), but declined rapidly from the 1950s. Many congregations now have a congregational board, which monitors income and expenditure. Former Free Church congregations often had Deacons' Courts, which had responsibility for the whole property of the congregation, and had to apply spiritual principles in the conduct of their affairs.
Sources: Hew Scott and others (ed.), Fasti Ecclesiae Scoticanae, vols. 5 and 8-11 (Edinburgh, 1915-2000).
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.