Comprising: register of baptisms 1899-1973; other records 1927-1962
THORNE, MOORENDS METHODIST CHURCH RECORDS
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Thorne Moorends chapel was originally built in 1741. According to the historical notes in item 15/3 below, the building cost £87. 12s. 11.1/4d. A photograph of this chapel can be found at 16/1.
From 1884, it formed part of the Priory Place Circuit and was transferred to the North East Circuit in 1950. In 1928 a new church, or 'school chapel' was built in response to the growth of Moorends following the opening of Thorne colliery. A site for the church was provided by Pease and Partners of Darlington, the owners of the colliery (see 3/3, and photograph at 16/2).The church was closed in 1974.
Access will be granted to any accredited member of Doncaster Libraries