- Prospectus 1894;
- Invoice 1860;
- Diary 1979;
- Framed caricatures of Allied Brewery Trade Association annual banquet 1953;
- Photograph of Baird's Stout advertising jug dated 1890s;
- Family papers 1953;
- Historical notes 1869-2000.
Records of Hugh Baird & Sons Ltd, brewers and maltsters, Glasgow, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 HB
- Dates of Creation1860-2000
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.03 shelf metres (2 files and 1 framed picture)Records include 1 framed picture
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Hugh Baird & Sons Ltd, brewers and maltsters in Glasgow, Scotland, derived from Hugh Baird & Co of Great Canal Brewery. Hugh Baird snr founded Great Canal Brewery in Possil Road (his first brewery), in 1823. He retired from the brewing side of the business in the late 1850s in order to concentrate on malting at his Springbank works, situated on the Forth and Clyde Canal, Garscube Road. It was not until 1863 that his eldest son Hugh Baird jnr joined the company, followed by Hugh jnr's brother Montague Baird, in 1870. When Hugh Baird snr finally retired from all aspects of the business in 1878 his two sons became sole partners. Various members of the family continued to rank amongst the company's Directors well into the 1940s and Montague Baird went on to become the president of the Institute of Brewing from 1906-1907.
In 1894 Hugh Baird & Sons became a limited liability company. In 1907 the company took over the well established firm of maltsters, Corder & Haycraft, based in Greenwich, London. This became the Company's English base for many years until they moved to a new mechanical plant at Witham in Essex in the 1960s. In 1939 the company consolidated with Charles & Co (Leith), the latter becoming a subsidiary company of the former. And by 1947 Thomas Bernard & Co became a subsidiary company by the same process of consolidation.
In 1946 Hugh Baird & Sons Ltd owned the Springbank County Malting and Newside Malting in Garscube Road, Glasgow, the Vulcan Malting at Vintner Street, Port Dundas, and the Electric Malting and Roasting House in Glasgow. The Roasting House was destroyed by fire in the 1950s, and was rebuilt, and fully modernized, operating up until 1966. In 1964 the company opened the Pencaitland plant in East Lothian. All floor maltings were subsequently closed, the Glasgow workings closing in 1966.
The mechanical malting plants of Pencaitland and Witham remain operating to this day.
Source: Barnard, Alfred. Noted Breweries of Great Britain and Ireland, Vol. 2 (London: Joseph Causton & Sons, c1889)
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited principally by John Hutcheson
History re consolidation of companies to be confirmed. It appears that the company continued to brew at the Great Canal Brewery into the 1940s - awaiting confirmation.
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot-Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
Location of Originals
This material is original
No known publications using this material
Fonds level description compiled by Natalie Milne, Archive Assistant (Hub), 30 October 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description, 8 June 2005. Revised by Wiebke Redlich, Archive Assistant (Hub), 22 January 2002; Emma Yan, Assistant Archivist, 05 December 2008, and Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 04 May 2012.