The school was built in Glanville Road in east Oxford in 1934 to take in boys from Oxford Municipal Secondary School and Central School, both of which required additional accommodation. The school merged with the City of Oxford High School in 1966 (see document S211/3/A16/1 for minutes of the Merger Working Party) under the name of Oxford School. This became Oxford Spires Academy in 2011.
The records in the collection, which include pupil record and admission cards, a staff register, governors' minutes, and journals, were transferred to the History Centre between 1988 and 2003 (accessions 2911, 4362 & 5184). The governors' minutes (transferred in 1990) were formerly held in the Central Library in Oxford.
Catalogued by Mark Priddey, July 2014