A summary of the history of the Movement to build a school house in Maesgeirchen, Bangor under the patronage of Bangor District Council, 1938-1941. Also, minutes of the same Movement, 1941-1942.
Maesgeirchen School-house Papers
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description https://archiveshub.jisc.ac.uk/data/gb222-bmssmaesg
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 222 BMSS MAESG
- Dates of Creation1938-1942
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialWelsh.
- Physical Description2 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The council estate known as Maesgeirchen, situated on the outskirts of the town of Bangor, north Wales was built in the 1930's. Lord Penrhyn sold 70 acres of land belonging to Maes Geirchen Farm to the council for this purpose and by 1939, 304 houses had been built. The estate grew rapidly in size, and in 1968, 3,000 people lived there.
Incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users.
Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, March 2003.
Other Finding Aids
A typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 8528, 10372
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.