Parish records of Farlington

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1614-1984 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812); register of marriages, 1614-1946; register of burials, 1614-1989 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1812, causes from 1796 only); register of banns, 1823-1982; register of services, 1908-1954; register of confirmations, 1928-1963; churchwardens’ records, including vestry minute book with accounts, 1823-1863, accounts, 1696, 1701-1766, 1860-1867, briefs, 1713-1717, and churchyard papers, 1770; constables’ records, including accounts, 1695-1762, and papers, 1820; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1694-1766, and settlement certificates, 1761, 1769, 1772, c.1780; school records, including penny bank cash book, 1913-1921; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1860-1907, and magazines, 1935-1947.

Administrative / Biographical History

Farlington was a chapelry within the parish of Sheriff Hutton until c.1871 when it became an independent parish. The parish church, previously a chapel of ease, is dedicated to St Leonard and dates to the twelfth century. A new vestry and porch were added in 1886 by architect Ewan Christian.

Today the parish is part of the united benefice of the Forest of Galtres, along with Sheriff Hutton, Marton in the Forest, Sutton on the Forest, and Stillington.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1963 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1973, 1977, 1984, 1985, 1993 and 2010.

Note

Farlington was a chapelry within the parish of Sheriff Hutton until c.1871 when it became an independent parish. The parish church, previously a chapel of ease, is dedicated to St Leonard and dates to the twelfth century. A new vestry and porch were added in 1886 by architect Ewan Christian.

Today the parish is part of the united benefice of the Forest of Galtres, along with Sheriff Hutton, Marton in the Forest, Sutton on the Forest, and Stillington.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2010.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1614-1984, marriages, 1614-1946, and burials, 1614-1989, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 685, 882).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 11.02.16

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193