Patons of Montrose, Flax and Tow Manufacturers

Scope and Content

Memoranda, 1889, 1885; Pay list of mechanics, 1895; Wages records, 1893, 1922; Comparisons of reductions and advances, Dundee and Montrose, 1873-1892; Photograph of machinery, undated.

Administrative / Biographical History

The firm Patons of Montrose was known as John and George Paton in 1889. The family had owned a textile mill in Montrose for some time before this date and the business continued until at least 1922. The mill itself was known as Patons' Mill and was a well known local landmark.

Access Information

Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.


Compiled by Jenny Cutts, Scottish Archive Network project and modified by Caroline Brown, Dundee University Archives, October 2003.

Conditions Governing Use

Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.

Geographical Names