Minute book of the Chapel-en-le-Frith Savings Bank.
Chapel-en-le-Frith Savings Bank records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Chapel-en-le-Frith Savings Bank was opened in 1841. On 20 May 1932 it was taken over by Manchester and Salford Savings Bank.
The branch's first known address in 1934 was High Street, Chapel-en-le-Frith. In 1939 the address was recorded as 20 High Street. On 21 May 1946 the branch transferred Stockport and District TSB.
On 14 October 1960 new premises were opened at 25 Market Street by Sir Geoffry Christie Miller, president of the bank. In 1970 the bank moved to premises at 1 Market Street, Chapel-en-le-Frith.
In 1975 the branch became part of TSB North West Central which became TSB North West in 1978. On 3 February 1995 the branch was closed and all accounts were transferred to Buxton branch.
Access is by appointment only, and at the discretion of the Archivist. Please e-mail email@example.com for further information.