'Contributions. Manuscripts consisting of original compositions in prose and verse; copies of rare documents; literary curiosities; &c.', circa 100 manuscript pages. There is a contents page at the start of the volume, and a page of members' signatures, headed by 'John Nicholl, Chairman', at the end. The volume also includes a few heraldic drawings and diagrams. Each composition is in the hand of its author and is signed by them at the end. The principal contributor is the antiquary John Nicholl, whose pieces include 'Arms and inscriptions in Old Islington Church', 'Extracts from the vestry minutes of St Mary, Islington, 1662', and an article on the poet Francis Quarles. The first item in the volume is 'Stanzas read at the first literary meeting held in the new building of the Islington Literary & Scientific Society' by Henry Austen Driver, who contributes other writings.
Islington Literary and Scientific Society: Contributions book
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Islington Literary and Scientific Society, which first met in 1833, sought to spread knowledge by means of lectures, discussions and other methods. In 1837 the society moved to a building in Wellington Street, containing a library, reading room, museum, laboratory and lecture theatres. The library was sold in 1872, and the building leased to other users thereafter.
Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.
Purchased from Henry Bristow, 1983.
Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives.
Other Finding Aids