1949-1950 - Arthur William Butler

Scope and Content

This series consists of correspondence and verification notes of entrants.


The material was kept as one series.

Related Material

The Minutes for the Council Meeting for the 9 June 1949 record that C.H. Philips and P. Wittek were asked to choose the subjects for the next Essay competition, In the Minutes for 20 April it was noted that the decision regarding the award of the Essay Prize would be left to the President.
In the report of the Anniversary Meeting in the Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society, 1950, p.217, it was reported that the prize had been won by Mr. A.W. Butler of London University and there is a report of the prize giving on 11 May on p.220 of the same Journal.