Later Gyffin Council School and finally Ysgol Babanod Gyffin.
Records of Gyffin School
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 2008 CE4
- Dates of Creation1904-1997
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description2 boxes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The school was opened in August 1904 by the Bishop of Bangor. Its first headteacher was Joseph T Radcliffe who, initially, taught almost one hundred children single-handed until finally two monitors were appointed to assist with care of the infants. The first school was terribly overcrowded, leading to a problem with the children's' health, and annual reports repeatedly highlighted the need for more space.
On 26 May 1911 the headteacher and his staff transferred to the new Council School that had opened in the vestry of Siloh (CM) Chapel. Most of the children also transferred, leaving only about fourteen to continue at the National School. The original school closed for good on 15 September 1911.
In 1915 the school was given a garden by Mrs Butler, Aelfryn, for the boys to tend with seeds and potatoes.
In 1926, T Percival Jones, the second headteacher, retired and, in the same year the new Central School opened to cater for the older junior school pupils, leaving Gyffin with about forty children under the age of seven.
In 1969 the school relocated from Siloh Chapel to a new building at Ysgol Maes y Llan, where it continued until it, along with the two Conwy Primary Schools, Ysgol Cadnant and Ysgol Bodlondeb, was superseded by a new large school in 1998.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.