Tal-y-sarn Independent Labour Party Account Book

Scope and Content

Account book, January 1911 - March 1914, with very sparse entries.

Administrative / Biographical History

In 1893 the Independent Labour Party was founded by James Keir Hardie, John Trevor and Robert Blatchford. It's main purpose was the promotion of a direct labour representation in the British Parliment. It became one of the most influential of British Social Organisations and it's history is the story of the growth of working class political power.

The treasurer of the Tal-y-sarn (Dyffryn Nantlle) Branch of the Independent Labour Party was John Morris Hughes, 1911 - 1914.


Incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users.


Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, July 2002.

Other Finding Aids

An item level typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference number : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 13529

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.


Personal Names