Femina Vie Heureuse Prize, English Committee: Minutes and Papers

Scope and Content

Minutes, accounts, lists of books recommended and considered, letters from English and French committee members and prizewinners, and newscuttings.

Letters from prizewinners: Percy Lubbock, Mary Webb (6), Radclyffe Hall, Virginia Woolf, H.M. Tomlinson, Charles Morgan (7), Stella Gibbons/Webb (4), Elizabeth Jenkins (2), L.H. Myers (2), Margaret Lane, Richard Church (2), and Robert Graves.

Letters from French prizewinners: Joseph Kessel, Franois Mauriac, Marion Gilbert (2), tienne Burnet (3), Julien Green (3), Cline Lhotte (3), Landre Vaillat (3), Jean Giono (2), Jean Schlumberger, Andr Chamson, Pierre Marois (8), Henri de Montherlant (3), Armand Lunel, Elvire Plissier (5), and Guy de Pourtales (2).

Letters from presenters of prizes: Edmund Gosse, John Galsworthy (4), Hugh Walpole, Sir Anthony H. Hopkins (4), Andr Marois (8), Harley Granville Barker (2), Harold Nicolson, J.L. Garvin (2), Philip Guedalla, E.M. Forster (3), Denis Saurat, Max Beerbohm (2), Sir William Rothenstein (3), H.G. Wells, H.A.L. Fisher, J.B. Priestley, Sir M.E. Sadler, Desmond Maccarthy (2), and Jacques de Lacratelle.

Letters from the French committee: C. Reymond de Broutelles (49), Germaine Beaumont, Mary Duclaux (7), Helen Granville Barker (2), J. Heller, Comtesse Jean de Pange (3), and Gabrielle Rval (2).

Letters from the English committee: Laura Bell, Mai Bohn (Mrs. Norman) (4), Ann Bridge (Mary O'Malley) (8), Lady Ethel Dilke (2), Ella Hepworth Dixon, Sheila Fry (Sheila Kaye-Smith) (9), Viola Garvin (3), E. Mary Goodman (3), Cicely Hamilton (2), Beatrice Harraden (3), Violet Hunt Hueffer (4), Enid, Lady Jones (Enid Bagnold) (6), Margaret Kennedy (Mrs. Davies) (6), Rosamond Lehmann (Mrs. Philipps) (12), Sylvia Lynd (11), Ethel Colburn Mayne (11), Kate O'Brien (7), Elizabeth Robins (2), Gladys Bertha Stern (5), Netta Syrett (4), Rebecca West (14), Amabel Williams-Ellis (3), and Margaret L. Woods (12).

Administrative / Biographical History

In 1904 Hachette, publishers of the magazines Femina and La Vie Heureuse, established an annual prize for a French novel. From 1919 a prize was also awarded for an English work 'calculated to reveal to French readers the true spirit and character of England'. An English committee discussed books suggested by members and shortlisted three; a French committee chose the winner. From 1920 a prize was given for a French work chosen by the English committee from a list made by the French. The last prizes were awarded in 1939. The English Committee included Rebecca West, Rosamond Lehmann, Kate O'Brien, and Clemence Dane; the secretary was Winifred S. Whale until 1939, then Margaret Harris. The secretary of the French committee was Mme C. Reymond de Broutelles.

Access Information

Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.

Acquisition Information

Purchased 1992.


Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives.

Other Finding Aids

Additional Manuscripts Summary Catalogue. A catalogue is also available in the Manuscripts Reading Room.