Records of Charing Cross Hospital Medical School, 1823-1997, later Charing Cross and Westminster Medical School, comprising minutes of the Committee of Management, 1823-1950; School Council, 1950-1997; Academic Board, 1949-1997; Finance Committee, 1911-1923; Finance and General Purposes Committee, 1948-1993; Joint Liaison Committee, 1967-1968; Division of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, 1945-1965; Division of Medicine, 1945-1965; Division of Surgery, 1945-1965; Institute of Pathology, 1919-1959; Academic Sub-Committee, 1943-1960; Joint School and Hospital Subcommittee, 1900-1907; Dean's and annual reports, 1927-1996; Dean's register, 1882-1934; Dean's disciplinary book, 1900-1914; prospectuses, 1904-1998; Charing Cross Hospital Gazette, 1899-1973, 1981-1984; honours list, 1879; bylaws, rules and regulations, 1894; 1930; constitution of the Students' Union, 1977; dental students' register, [1935-1954]; annual accounts for Charing Cross dental students' register, [1935-1954]; annual accounts for Charing Cross Hospital Medical School, 1950-1984; Charing Cross and Westminster Medical School, 1984-1997; Charing Cross and Westminster Medical School Students' Union, 1992-1997.
Charing Cross and Westminster Medical School
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 98 Charing Cross and Westminster Medical School
- Dates of Creation1823-1997
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Descriptionapproximately 30 linear metres
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Charing Cross Hospital was established in 1823 in Villiers Street, London, as a charitable institution known as the West London Infirmary. The institution had its origins in a meeting initiated by Dr Benjamin Golding in 1818. The infirmary provided accommodation for twelve beds, and became known as Charing Cross Hospital in 1827. From the outset it was intended that the hospital would provide medical training for students, and a plan of medical education was drawn up in 1822. A new hospital building was opened in Agar Street in 1834 with accommodation for twenty-two students. Chandos Place in 1881, and enlarged in 1894 with additional laboratories. In 1911, the pre-clinical training was transferred to the University laboratories at King's College. During the Second World War the Medical School was evacuated to Chaulden House, Boxmoor, and returned to Charing Cross in 1947. A new hospital was opened in 1973 on Fulham Palace Road, on the site of the old Fulham Hospital, with accommodation for the Medical School. A new medical school building, the Reynolds Building, was opened in 1976. The Charing Cross Hospital Medical School merged with the Westminster Medical School in 1984, and became known as the Charing Cross and Westminster Medical School. The School became part of Imperial College School of Medicine on its formation in 1997.
Conditions Governing Access
Researchers wishing to consult the Archives should first contact the College Archivist, Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine, Exhibition Road, London SW7 2AZ, for an appointment.
The records were transferred to the College Archives from the Charing Cross Campus Library in July 2000.
Other Finding Aids
A preliminary list is available at the College Archives.
Charing Cross Hospital holds records, 1818-1979; London Metropolitan Archives holds records, 1897-1947; Charing Cross Hospital League of Nurses holds some nursing records.
Conditions Governing Use
A photocopying service is available at the discretion of the Archivist. Photocopies are supplied for research use only. Requests to publish original material should be submitted to the Archivist.