The collection currently comprises five volumes of annual reports and one volume reporting the centenary of the school.
Yorkshire School for the Blind
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Yorkshire School for the Blind was founded in 1833 by The Wilberforce Memorial, and was also known as The Wilberforce School for the Blind.
The school was situated at the King’s Manor in the city centre, which had formerly been the home of the abbot of St. Mary’s Abbey. King’s Manor was originally built from 1483 until 1502 and is today part of York University.
Yorkshire School for the Blind operated from the Kings Manor site until it was finally closed in 1958.
Conditions Governing Access
Material is available subject to the usual terms and conditions of access to Archives and Local History collections.
Other Finding Aids
More detailed finding aids for this collection can be found online by searching the Explore website ( www.exploreyork.org.uk)
Compiled by Laura Yeoman, Archives and Local History Public Services Manager, June 2015.
Conditions Governing Use
Images are supplied for private research only at the Archivist's discretion. Please note that material may be unsuitable for copying on conservation grounds. Researchers who wish to publish material must seek copyright permission from the copyright owner.