Manuscript bibliography of books on medicine compiled by Dr F.H. Jacob (fl 1872-1935),physician; early 20th century.

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Dr F.H. Jacob records in this bibliography a manuscript listing of works on medicine, possiblydrawing on the library of the Nottingham Medico-Chirurgical Society. The entries, written in blueink on loose leaves of paper, have limited bibliographic detail for each work, generally providingonly titles of works and the names of the authors. Jacob has, however, included his personalassessment of each work, together with a brief description of its content. The bibliography isundated. It was presumably compiled after 1901 when Jacob took up his role as honorary physician forthe General Hospital, Nottingham, and possibly in the later years of his career.

Administrative / Biographical History

Frank Harwood Jacob was born in Pembrokeshire in 1872, son of Rev. S.H. Jacob and was educated atKing's School, Ely. He was made honorary physician at Nottingham General Hospital in 1901 and was anactive member of the Nottingham Medico-Chirurgical Society. Jacob was a Fellow of the Royal Collegeof Physicians.

Arrangement

No archival arrangement has been necessary.

Conditions Governing Access

ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers.

LANGUAGE: English

Other Finding Aids

  • This description is the only finding aid available for the collection. Copyright on thedescription belongs to the University of Nottingham.

Conditions Governing Use

REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.

COPYRIGHT: Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult.Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advancein writing from the Keeper of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email mss-library@nottingham.ac.uk).

Custodial History

The collection was acquired by the University of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts andSpecial Collections in January 1988.