Comprising: registers of baptisms 1837-1930; minutes 1958-1982; offertory accounts 1965-1973; pulpit notices 1966-1974; choir 1921-1978; jubilee celebration 1985-1987 including 'Jubilee History of Tickhill Methodist Church' 1987
TICKHILL METHODIST CHURCH RECORDS
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Situated on Northgate on a site acquired by the trustees early in 1837, the Wesleyan Chapel in Tickhill was constructed promptly and opened for worship in October of that same year. This building superseded a much less commodious chapel on Mangham Lane, built in 1817, which had in turn replaced a private house on Doncaster Road, licensed for worship in 1776. It remains Tickhill's Methodist Church today, although much changed from its original appearance, having undergone substantial alterations in 1963, when the galleries and upper level were removed.
Tickhill appeared on the Preaching Plan of the Doncaster Methodist Circuit of 1828. From 1884 the church formed part of the Oxford Place Circuit, and later the Doncaster South and West Circuits.
Access will be granted to any accredited member of Doncaster Libraries