Antony Maitland Collection

Scope and Content

Collection of original artwork by Antony Maitland, including cover artwork for ten books and internal illustrations for six books. The collection includes original artwork for 'Mrs Cockle's Cat' by Philippa Pearce, for which Maitland won the Kate Greenaway medal in 1961, and a small amount of original artwork relating to 'Mirror, Mirror' and 'The Lamplighter's Funeral' by Leon Garfield.

Administrative / Biographical History

Created by Antony Maitland during the course of his career as an illustrator.


Following Maitland's original system of arrangement, the artwork is sorted into files according to title, with files arranged in order of publication date. The final file contains single pieces of artwork for book jackets.

Access Information

Accessible to all researchers, by appointment only.

Custodial History

Donated to Seven Stories by the creator in 2007.

Related Material

See file LG/03/01 for three original illustrations by Maitland for several of Leon Garfield's published works.