Pen-y-Bryn Special School

Scope and Content

E/PB Spec 1/1-1/4 Log books

E/PB Spec 2/1-2/44 Attendance registers

E/PB Spec 3/1 Diaries

E/PB Spec 4/1-4/3 Photographs

E/PB Spec 5/1-5/5 Other records

Administrative / Biographical History

In 1953 the building that housed the Cambrian Institute for the Deaf and Dumb was taken over by the local education authority, Swansea Borough and housed the newly established Pen-y-Bryn School. When the school opened in 1953 it was originally for children aged between 7 and 13 but during the first three years a further age group was added so that it eventually catered for pupils aged 7 to 16. The school was organised into Junior and Senior Departments with most children staying on at school until the age of 16. Pen-y-Bryn Special School moved to its present site in Morriston in 1973.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained

Accruals

Accruals are not expected.