Parish records of York, St Crux

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1540-1896, (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1792-1812); register of marriages, 1541-1880; register of burials, 1539-1851 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812); register of banns, 1841-1855; account book, 1838-1888; charity records, including accounts, 1889-1972 , and correspondence, 1946-1973; feoffees' appointments, 1804-1954, and deeds and papers, 1804-1954; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1885-1957, and fabric papers, 1884-1888; Vestry/Parochial Church Council minutes of meetings, 1827-1885; papers concerning ownership of St Crux church hall, 1996-2002; papers concerning parish lands 1903-1922; plans for proposed restorations of St Crux’s Church and church hall, 1893, 1978-1980; photograph of hatchment in St Crux church hall with accompanying letter, 1988.

Administrative / Biographical History

St Crux has been identified as one of the eight York city churches mentioned in Domesday. The parish persisted as York, St Crux until 1885 when it was joined with York, All Saints Pavement with St Peter the Little. The resulting parish of York, All Saints Pavement with St Peter the Little and St Crux was further augmented to form York All Saints Pavement and St Crux with St Saviour in 1954.

In 1987 further consolidation occurred, the parish combined with St Mary Castlegate with St Michael Spurriergate to form the current parish of York, All Saints Pavement with St Crux and St Michael Spurriergate. The city benefices have also had a complex recent past, with the most recent alteration in 1997 leaving the parish currently standing within a benefice of the same name.

The church, rebuilt in the perpendicular style in the early fifteenth century, was large for a city church. In the late seventeenth century the tower was rebuilt, topped by a cupola and several urns. However, the structure fell into decay and in 1884, parts were taken down for safety reasons and with the intention of beginning restoration work. No work was undertaken and the building was demolished and site cleared in 1887.

The St Crux hall currently standing on the site was partly constructed from some of the original masonry, and parts of the original fabric can be seen in situ forming some of the exterior walls of surrounding buildings. When the church was demolished two bells were donated to the Yorkshire Museum in York, and the fifteenth century lectern was moved to the church of All Saints Pavement.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1966 by the incumbent of the parish. Further additions were made to the archive in 1971, 1972, 1972, 2000, 2002 and 2005.

Note

St Crux has been identified as one of the eight York city churches mentioned in Domesday. The parish persisted as York, St Crux until 1885 when it was joined with York, All Saints Pavement with St Peter the Little. The resulting parish of York, All Saints Pavement with St Peter the Little and St Crux was further augmented to form York All Saints Pavement and St Crux with St Saviour in 1954.

In 1987 further consolidation occurred, the parish combined with St Mary Castlegate with St Michael Spurriergate to form the current parish of York, All Saints Pavement with St Crux and St Michael Spurriergate. The city benefices have also had a complex recent past, with the most recent alteration in 1997 leaving the parish currently standing within a benefice of the same name.

The church, rebuilt in the perpendicular style in the early fifteenth century, was large for a city church. In the late seventeenth century the tower was rebuilt, topped by a cupola and several urns. However, the structure fell into decay and in 1884, parts were taken down for safety reasons and with the intention of beginning restoration work. No work was undertaken and the building was demolished and site cleared in 1887.

The St Crux hall currently standing on the site was partly constructed from some of the original masonry, and parts of the original fabric can be seen in situ forming some of the exterior walls of surrounding buildings. When the church was demolished two bells were donated to the Yorkshire Museum in York, and the fifteenth century lectern was moved to the church of All Saints Pavement.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2005.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, 1540-1896, marriages, 1541-1880, burials, 1539-1851, and banns, 1841-1855, vestry minutes, 1827-1885, and deeds, 1804-1865, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 834, 1759, 1779-1780).

Archivist's Note

Created 10.11.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

For related material held by the Borthwick Institute, see the parish records of York, All Saints Pavement which include papers relating to St Crux church hall, c.1977, a list of rectors, n.d., St Crux Parish Room and Mission Ground account book, 1889-1958, account book for All Saints with St Crux and St Saviour's, 1962-1974, historical notes, 1980-1986, and a video of All Saints and St Crux, 1987.

See also the parish records of York, St Denys and St George which include a map showing alterations of the areas of the parishes of All Saints and St Crux with St Saviour and St Sampson with Holy Trinity, King's Court; St Michael le Belfrey and Holy Trinity, Goodramgate; St Cuthbert; Holy Trinity, Heworth; and St Denys, 1975.

Bibliography

Yorkshire Parish Record Society, 'The Parish Registers of St Crux, York. Vol I, 1539-1716.' Transcribed and edited by R. Beilby Cook and Mrs F. Harrison (Leeds, 1922).



Yorkshire Parish Record Society, 'The parish register of St. Crux, York. Volume II, Baptisms 1716-1837, Marriages and Burials 1678-1837.' Transcribed and edited by Margaret E. Smith (Leeds, 1985).



Additional Information

Published

GB 193