Management and publicity records of the Ashton-under-Lyne and District Trustee Savings Bank including minutes, annual reports and an illustrated book on the bank's history.
Ashton-under-Lyne and District Trustee Savings Bank
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 386 TC/5
- Dates of Creation1838 - 1974
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description14 volumes 3 files
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The bank was opened in 1829 as the Ashton-under-Lyne and District Savings Bank. It was first located at 22 Church Street, Ashton-under-Lyne, and moved to premises at 40 Park Parade in 1852. During this period and until 1911, the position of actuary to the bank was kept within two families, with Isaac Jackson and later his daughter Mary Jackson holding the position until 1852, and then three generations of the Ashton family. In 1881, the bank moved again to premises in Warrington Street, but these became inadequate, and in 1911 the bank moved into purpose built premises at the junction of Warrington Street and Old Street. The new premises were designed by George and Sons architects in a neo-renaissance style, featuring a domed ceiling in the banking hall. By 1948, these premises had also become unsuitable and the bank moved to 222 Stamford Street. The old premises at Warrington Street were acquired by the National Provincial Bank, which opened a branch there.
In 1970, the bank moved to 91 Old Street, and nine years later the first through-the-wall ATS machine to be installed in a TSB branch was installed in Ashton-under-Lyne, providing a 24 hour facility to customers for the first time.
Access is by appointment only, and at the discretion of the Archivist. Please e-mail email@example.com for further information.