Alan Hunter Archive

Scope and Content

The collection contains MSS, TSS and proofs of short story writing, novels, plays and poems.Notebooks include early drafts, plans, plot outlines and character descriptions. They also include AH’s commentary on his writing process and progress.Includes novels, novellas and screenplays; correspondence, press cuttings and review writing.

Administrative / Biographical History

Alan Hunter (1922-2005) was the author of forty six detective novels (published 1955-1999) as part of the Inspector George Gently crime series, set in East Anglia. During the war, Hunter served as an aircraft technician in the RAF and published a collection of poetry, The Norwich Poems(1944). In 1946 he was appointed manager of the antiquarian books department of Charles Cubitt, booksellers, in Norwich, before setting up his own bookshop in the town's Maddermarket in 1950. AH submitted two scripts under pseudonyms: Millionaires are Murder under the name of Sam Latterly, 1957 and Nothing Holy under the name of James Herbert, 1969. Neither were published.

Conditions Governing Access

Other than where a specific access restriction is noted, the collection is open for consultation in the Archives Department by appointment during its advertised opening hours.

Acquisition Information

The Alan Hunter Archive was gifted to the University of East Anglia and deposited in the Archives on 9 April 2015.

Other Finding Aids

Archivist's Note


Conditions Governing Use

Reproductions can be supplied in hard copy or digital format subject to physical condition and the terms of deposit. A charge is made for this service. Copyright restrictions may apply and the advice of the Archives department should be sought for any use of reproductions other than personal research.