The British School was built in 1860 in Back Chapel Street, on land donated by David Humphreys. Board Schools were established during the 1870s following the 1870 Elementary Education Act and were often known as "Council Schools". Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant British School was transferred to the control of Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant School Board on the 1st September 1876 and reopened as the Board School under the Headmastership of Thomas W Hancock at the beginning of 1877.
In 1877 there were approximately 35-40 boys and girls in attendance, but by 1887 that number had risen to approximately 60. In 1936 after the Hadow report it took only children over the age of 11 and became known as the Central School, the local National School in Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant carried on teaching the under 11 age group.
This collection consists of two volumes of accounts.
Location of original school-
Street name- Back Chapel Street
Post Code SY10 0JX
Grid Ref SJ124261
ED/SB/21- School Board Records-
DD/DM/696- Results of examinations (by subject) of Eunice Mena Evans at Llanrhaeadr Council School